Back to calendar

Sound of Masterpieces

Sound of Masterpieces

Time: 11.03.18  17:00–18:15
Location: Kadriorg Art Museum
Price: 15 €

“Orpheus and Eurydike”. Plate painting after Angelika Kauffmann (1800–1820). Introduction by art historian Aleksandra Murre

Ivo Posti (countertenor), Oksana Sinkova (flute), Tatjana Lepnurm (harp)

“Heaven and Hell” – Roussel, Gluck, Mouquet

An exciting evening in which a rare selection of instruments meets seldom-played music. Roussel and Mouque are late 19th and early 20th century French composers with a colourful style that is in sharp contrast with Gluck’s melody from centuries ago.
The countertenor’s timbre presents a symbiosis of masculinity and gentleness which harmonises with the most fragile orchestral instruments – the flute and harp. Gentleness and uniqueness are probably this concert’s primary characteristics.

Concert series Sound of Masterpieces in Kadriorg presents the valuable art collection of the Kadriorg Art Museum. Each concert introduces one masterpiece with explanations from an art historian and followed by music according to the era and theme of the masterpiece.

With one intermission, it will last about 1 hour and 15 minutes.
Tickets 15€  Piletilevi outlets
The concert ticket is also valid for visitn the exhibitions at the Kadriorg Art Museum on the same day (from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.)

In cooperation with Eesti Kontsert