Back to calendar

Sound of Masterpieces

Sound of Masterpieces

Time: 15.04.18  17:00–18:15
Location: Kadriorg Art Museum
Price: 15 €

Work of art: Kaljo Põllu. “Taevalik Maailma Esiema” (Heavenly Foremother of the World, 1978), Introduction by art historian Aleksandra Murre

Tartu String Quartet
Kristel Eeroja-Põldoja (violin), Kadri Sepalaan (violin), Kadri Rehemaa (viola), Reet Mets (cello)

Garrop. String Quartet No. 3 “Gaia”
Schubert. String Quartet No. 14 in D minor “Death and the Maiden”

Gaia is a piece where the goddess of the Earth from Greek mythology cries over the environmental pollution caused by the civilisation of today. The interesting juxtaposition is the bridge across two centuries – Stacy Garrop, a contemporary composer from the United States, expresses heartache over the downfall of the environment, while Schubert shows the distinctively Romantic sorrow over the ephemeral and fragile nature of young lives.


Concert series Sound of Masterpieces in Kadriorg presents the valuable art collection of the Kadriorg Art Museum. Each concert introduces one masterpiece with explanations from an art historian and followed by music according to the era and theme of the masterpiece.

With one intermission, it will last about 1 hour and 15 minutes.
Tickets 15€  Piletilevi outlets
The concert ticket is also valid for visitn the exhibitions at the Kadriorg Art Museum on the same day (from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.)

In cooperation with Eesti Kontsert